a very long engagement

7 Jul

I finished watching A Very Long Engagement today; which is also a very long movie (over 2 hours!), however, I find myself in a bit of summer ennui so I made the time.  The story really did not start moving for me until well into hour two; but I did enjoy it none the less.  I found myself easily wrapped up in the tiniest details of the set design; the pretty lace on Mathide’s (Audrey Tantou) clothing and bedding, the crochet tablecloth in her bedroom, the woolen knit sweaters she wrapped herself in…it was a story in and of  it’s self.  Also, I was delighted to see both Marion Cotillard and Jodie Foster in small but delicious roles!  Overall, it was a beautiful tribute to a love that knows no end despite the obstacles of men and war.  Long live MMM.

Leave a Reply

